Now that the NFL season is over, so it is finally the end of the career of Brett Favre. While this season was not the best season to end on, at least it was so bad as to provide Brett with significant reason to end his 20 year career.
Brett Favre is the reason I am a Green Bay Packers fan. One of the first football games I watched of my own inititive was at a friend's house and it was a first round playoff game between Green Bay and Detriot. In that game, the thing I remembered was that Brett Favre picked a fight with Chris Spielman (a pro bowl linebacker). The only games I had watched previously were superbowls and well after watching Jim Kelly get hurt etc... my thought was "This is how a quarterback should play, he is intense." From that point on I was a Brett Favre, Green Bay Packer fan. Later when after I became a Christian, I found ample reason to like the Packers in addition to Brett in the form of Reggie White. From that playoff till the Post Vicodin SuperBowl it was a great rid. Even the year we lost to that bastard Elway and Terrell "I had 2 great years" Davis.
Green Bay had it's issues all through till really 2007. In 2007 Green Bay and Brett looked good. Which is what make the drama of the postseason even harder. Looking back on the Thompson/Favre debacle, I can understand both positions. Thompson was tired of the waffling and had a backup 1st round draft pick QB itching to play. Brett didn't really want to leave yet and wanted to be a starter not a backup with Green Bay. He summed that up by saying, "Either play me or trade me." Green Bay obviously traded him to NYJ.
It is on the heels of Brett being forced out of the team he loved, and being away from his wife that he made a mistake. He found a pretty young version of his wife and sent her inappropriate text messages. I will stand by his word that the texts and voicemail were him but not the photo. Of course we wouldn't know about this until 2 years later interestingly right before Minnesota played the Jets. How are those bags of peanuts?
2009 was a dream for a Favre fan. I can say this is the only time I ever rooted against the Packers. I wanted GB to win when they first played in Minnesota. However, Green Bay's (the city and fans not the players) LACK OF CLASS by booing a guy who had done so much for the franchise was horrifying. I wanted Brett to kick the living crap out of those fans and teach them some humility. Green Bay forgot what it was like to have Majikowski as their QB. Rightfully so, Green Bay lost. I also was hoping the Vikings would make it further that year but they were stopped by the eventual champions.
This last year has been the year Favre became human. With injuries galore (which would have sidelined many players sooner) his performance was affected and finally it was too much. His body told him it was over. Also, with this years two losses to the Packers, it seemed not about revenge but about a changing of the guard. Brett has always talked well of Aaron Rodgers and we are seeing why.
In closing, my boss and I will talk about Brett from time to time. He always makes the same statement, "Someone needs to get that guys DNA and clone him, he simply is not human... more like the terminator." What Brett will be remembered for is the passion behind how he played the game and his outstanding durability. What you have seen in him, you will not see again soon.
Thanks for the Memories Brett
No comments:
Post a Comment