Thursday, December 30, 2010

There is no such thing as a college "student athlete" in Divsion 1

Okay so this rant is here because of the following

Kansas St. vs. Syracuse in a bowl game
Kansas St. scores a touchdown and needs a two point conversation to tie the game. There is only a little over 1 minute left in the 4th quarter. Normally, they would be at roughly the 3 yard line for the attempt. However, #82 for Kansas gets called for "excessive celebrating" and the team gets a 15 yard penalty. Needless to say they fail to score the conversation, lose the onside kick and lose the game.
The excessive celebrating was the player saluting the crowd and then jumping into a teammate. I mean really??? That is excessive? I was expecting him to have throw the ball into the stands or at the back of the endzone. Maybe he taunted the other side but not saluting. Kind of over the top to me.
NCAA has this mythical belief that these are all good boys going to school to get degrees and play some football while they are there. The reality is these are boys who got scholarships so they could come play football which may lead the boys to the NFL and allows the college to make money off of them. The education part is secondary. Maybe back in the day it wasn't but in today's world it is. NCAA division 1 is the minor leagues of the NFL.
So I think it is time we get rid of these stupid rules. No more calls for excessive celebration or stopping the clock on first down, or being down if you fall down. End all the silliness and get these boys ready to play in the league they all are hoping they can play in.

No comments:

Post a Comment